CalBike announces 2016 primary endorsements

by / March 21, 2016

The California Bicycle Coalition issued their endorsements this week in the state's Assembly and Senate races.

The advocacy organization asked each candidate how much they support bicycling. How much do they ride? Do they support more funding for bicycle infrastructure? Do they support a "complete streets" requirement that all road maintenance take bicycle safety into account? Do they oppose using greenhouse gas funding for more roads?

Based on their answers to the survey and the results of outreach to their own members across the state, CalBike chose to endorse nine candidates:


AD 37 – Monique Limon - Trustee, Santa Barbara USD

AD 40 – Abigail Medina - Trustee, San Bernardino USD

AD 43 – Laura Friedman - Councilmember, Glendale

AD 65 – Sharon Quirk-Silva - Former Mayor of Fullerton and Assemblymember

AD 66 – Al Muratsuchi - Former Assemblymember, Torrance, CA

AD 78 – Todd Gloria - Councilmember, San Diego


SD 9 – Nancy Skinner - Former Member, State Assembly

SD 25 – Katherine Perez-Estolano - Member, High-Speed Rail Board/Businesswoman, San Gabriel Valley

SD 35 – Steven Bradford - Former Assemblymember, author of "Three Feet for Safety Act"

SD 39 – Toni Atkins - Member, State Assembly, San Diego  

Get Updates

Sign up today to receive bi-monthly updates from CalBike delivered to your inbox.

How you can help

Spread the word!